Important Information

About St Michaels Archdiocese


The Archdiocese Of Saint Michael was founded by the Reverend Benedict-Johns on January 1 2013, and merged with the Holy Name of Jesus Anglo Catholic Communion in August of 2014, see A Change In Name Only


We believe that Sacred Tradition is the life of the Church and as such is the means for interpretation and discernment. Sacred Tradition is expressed in the:

  • Sacred Scripture.
  • Liturgy/Creed
  • Lives of the Saints (living and dead).
  • Art especially icons.

We believe in the inerrancy and divine inspiration of Holy Scriptures and that final interpretation rests with the Catholic “Universal” Church and not the individual. For example;

  • We accept that homosexual practice is incompatible with Scripture and Sacred Tradition and as such we cannot advise the legitimizing or blessing of same sex unions or ordaining those involved in same gender unions. However we also recognize that there are among us persons who experience themselves as having a homosexual orientation. Many of these are members of the Church and are seeking the pastoral care, moral direction of the Church, and God’s transforming power for the living of their lives and the ordering of relationships.
  • In the same respect we find historical precedence for the inclusion of Women into the ministry, and therefore we do openly ordain Women into the Priesthood and Episcopacy.

We believe the Apostles Creed to be the Baptismal symbol and the Nicene Creed the Statement of the Faith of the Early Church and we believe and ALL that it professes. For example the Creed defines:

  • The nature and relationship of Holy Trinity. Which is that God is one in three divine persons: the Father, who created it all; the Son, who died for our sins and rose from the dead; the Holy Spirit, who regenerates and sanctifies souls.
  • Jesus Christ became man and died on the cross for our salvation.
  • The Incarnation and virgin birth of our Lord.
  • Apostolic Succession.
  • Communion of Saints.
  • Baptism.
  • Resurrection and life in the world to come

We believe in the seven sacraments of the Church. Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Anointing of the Sick (Extreme Unction), Reconciliation (Confession & Absolution), Holy Matrimony, and Holy Orders.

  • Concerning Holy Eucharist we believe in the Real Presence of Jesus Christ in the Eucharist as set forth by the Declaration of Utrecht. And that Holy Communion should be made available to all baptized Christians regardless of tradition or denomination.
  • We believe that as Baptism provides regeneration and marks one as Christ’s on forever then too all baptized Christians should be allowed to receive the Sacraments of Holy Communion, Anointing, Matrimony, and Reconciliation.
  • Concerning the Sacrament of Holy Matrimony We believe that both Scripture and the Sacred Tradition of the Church, upholds faithfulness in marriage between a man and a woman in lifelong union, and believes that abstinence is right for those who are not called to marriage. However we also believe that Jesus is merciful and those who have been divorced and/or remarried are offered the sacraments of the church.
  • We believe and accept the doctrines of the Seven Early Church Ecumenical Councils without exception to the Anathema statements and accept those canons which are accepted by the majority of the Catholic Church. For example:
  • We believe and appreciate the wisdom and guidance of the Early Church Fathers.
  • We believe and hold apostolic succession.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s